Chen Heng

Chen Heng is a Taiwanese composer born in Taipei in 1990. He studied the violin under the tutelage of Lin Bao-shan, Wu Yi-chong, and Kao An-hsiang while receiving instructions for piano from Wang Hui-ling, Liu Ben-chuang, and Hwang Li-ying.


He has also studied traditional Chinese music such as erhu, guqin, luogu, and xiqu vocals, and took lessons for the pipe organ to expand the breadth of his musical knowledge.


While attending the music program of the Affiliated Senior High School of National Taiwan Normal University, Chen also began to study composition and music theory under the guidanceof Hsiao Ching-yu. He then completed a Bachelor’s degree in composition with instructions from Pan Hwang-long and Tsai Ling-huei at Taipei National University of the Arts.


Chen then moved to Paris to pursue further musical studies at the Boulogne-Billancourt National Conservatory with Jean-Luc Hervé. After receiving a diploma in composition, he studied orchestration with Pierre Farago and Composition of electronic music with Yan Maresz.


He is currently enrolled at Conservatoire de Paris (Conservatoire national supérieur de musique et de danse de Paris), studying composition under the tutelage of Gérard Pesson.


Through short-term workshops and courses, Chen has also worked with Beat Furrer, Bruno Mantovani, Chinary Ung, Joel Hoffman, Wen De-qing, and Chong Kee-yong. His compositions and choreography music have been performed in Taiwan, Seoul and Paris, and he has previously collaborated with the Taipei Chamber Singers and choreographers Su Pin-wen and Marcus Leung.


Chen is also passionate about other forms of artistic expression. He has previously engaged in theater performance and even produced music for short films. He maintains a close interest in contemporary literature, drama, and dance, and hopes to produce new works that will incorporate cross-disciplinary elements.




Review & Report

 Work Selection, Sound & Score Sample


《三種惱人(但不致命)的症狀》為四重奏- II.ADHD 

​Tpt., Cl. Bs., Vc. Perc.


00:00 / 01:21






00:00 / 01:26


Deux Capries

​Violin I, Violin II, Accordion



00:00 / 01:17


Oison, trisse!

saxophone alto et percussion



00:00 / 01:44